Education Bills Scheduled for Week of May 8, 2017

Only one bill remains in the House Education Committee, one of this year’s town tuitioning (aka Croydon) bills, Senate Bill 8. This is an important school choice bill and will have an impact on Croydon’s legal situation. We expect at least one amendment to be introduced, but do not have details yet. Even so, we request school choice advocates to continue contacting the committee urging their support.  As always, the detailed schedule with our analysis and recommendations is below with legislators’ contact information at the end.

Weekly Schedule

Department of Education, Londergan Hall, room 13, 101 Pleasant Street, Concord
This is the regular bi-monthly meeting of the Home Education Advisory Council. It is open to the public.


10:30 a.m. Executive session on pending legislation

***SB 8-FN, relative to school attendance in towns with no public schools
position — SUPPORT
information — This is the senate version of HB 557, the town tuitioning bill as originally written, that would allow small districts to make agreements with other public school districts or private schools if the grade-level is not offered in-district. This bill is a return of the Committee of Conference language of HB 1637 (2016), aka the Croydon bill, that passed the House and Senate only to be vetoed by Gov. Hassan. It clarifies existing statutes that small towns across the state that do not provide full K through 12 education in-district may enter into tuition agreements with other schools. It is consistent with RSA 194:22 and RSA 193:1. It is also in line with practices by NH districts that have tuition agreements with private schools, even some located out of state. This has the potential to impact more than 50 small school districts that currently contract with neighboring districts. For additional information, read Town Tuitioning in CroydonOptions for Small Towns, and Governor Vetoes School Choice that references the 2016 bill.

Contact Legislators

To contact the entire House Education Committee, you may send one email to Brief phone calls are most effective, but personalized emails directed to an individual are also helpful; mention if you are a constituent. Personal stories and messages are helpful.  Below is a list of the House Education Committee members’ emails for an easy copy/paste.

2017-2018 House Education Committee

Rick Ladd (R), 989-3268
Terry Wolf (R), Vice 471-0240
Barbara Shaw (D) 626-4681
Glenn Cordelli (R) 515-0008
Robert Elliott (R) 893-0402
Carolyn Halstead (R) 672-7141
Mel Myler (D) 746-5294
Patricia Cornell (D) 644-5480
Tamara Le (D)(603) 964-6403
James Grenier (R) 863-5681
Josh Moore (R) 361-0955
Michael Moffett (R)(603) 491-0553
Mary Heath (D) 622-0895
David Doherty (D) )485-2788
Joseph Pitre (R) 755-2447
Victoria Sullivan (R) 232-4382
Dan Wolf (R)(603) 763-5176
Wayne Burton (D) 868-5037
Linda Tanner (D) 763-4471


Print Friendly, PDF & Email